What soprano Samantha Britt finds impressive in Salzburg and Berlin

robertjsaferstein_chelseaopera_shock

Samantha Britt at Chelsea Opera. Photo: Robert J. Saferstein

Recently, this blog has started to publish a series of profiles of young American, Canadian, and British singers who went to Germany to sing and live. Their answers to a small set of questions show what it takes to move to a foreign place, mainly to Berlin, and pursue the career of their dreams.

Your name:
Samantha Britt

Where are you from?
New York

What is your Fach?
Lyric-coloratura soprano

Since when in Berlin?
My first trip was in 2014

When are you going to go/move to Berlin?
2016/2017

Your favorite role:
It’s hard to choose one! Zerbinetta in Ariadne auf Naxos, Susanna in Le Nozze di Figaro, Lucia in Lucia di Lammermoor

Best opera production you saw in Germany:
Ariadne auf Naxos at Stuttgart Oper 2014

Craziest opera production you saw in Germany:
It wasn’t in Germany, but in Salzburg, Austria, in 2006, I saw a Don Giovanni which had a rotating stage. During Leporello’s catalogue aria the stage displayed a carousel of examples of Don G’s conquests which included naked women shaving their legs and a girl in a frilly dress around age 8 playing jumprope. Pretty shocking.

Britt_Samantha_02F.jpg

Your hero in opera:
Diana Damrau and Maria Callas

Your hero in real life:
My Grandmother, the family’s Scrabble champion, who instilled in me a love of words!

Two things you like about Berlin:
Food Halls and Festivals, always-interesting Graffiti

Two things you don’t like about Berlin:
Grey skies and the lack of public water fountains

A story in which you were glad that you spoke German:
In general, when I want to do a yoga class and the only one available is in German, I’m very glad I know my “rechtes Bein” from my “linkes Bein”.

A story in which you made an embarrassing mistake in German (if you want to tell):
I can only think of the times when I accidentally said sexual slang while speaking “Denglish”! Otherwise Germans have been forgiving and helped me through my grammatical errors.

Your most recent performance:
Soprano solos in Carmina Burana with Camerata Orchestra NYC

Your next project, performance, and where:
Sister Constance in Dialogues of the Carmelites with Sakrale Oper Berlin

Your favorite German word:
(Also hard to choose!) Augenblick, it’s so much more descriptive than “moment”

Find more information about Samantha Britt at
http://www.samanthabritt.com

Listen to audio of her singing at Soundcloud:
https://soundcloud.com/multifariousam

 

 

